top of page
  • Writer's picturePictures4Us

São Carlos National Theatre & Chiado

Once somebody told me that childhood memories matter in one's life. I'd never thought much about this, but I really tend to agree.

In Lisbon, Chiado is one of the places that I feel that I've known since ever.

When I was a little child, I used to go to São Carlos National Theatre with my parents and an uncle. I've learnt to appreciate classical music, to love classical ballet and opera at that very Theatre.

Just an historical note: São Carlos National Theatre was opened to public on July 30, 1793 with the opera La Ballerina Amante, by Domenico Cimarosa.

Later on, in my youth, I've studied in a school located at Largo do Carmo.

Nowadays, Chiado district is often mentioned in travelling magazines. But references to Chiado can also be found all over portuguese classical literature.

One of the best portuguese novelists, Eça de Queiroz (1845-1900) mentioned Chiado much more than once in his fabulous and renown books.

Lisbon and Chiado are connected since ever.

The upper XIX century class in Portugal spent most of the time having meals, sunday walks and going to the usual entertainments in this Lisbon area. Chiado is a district with history and histories.

Besides one of the greatest portuguese Poets was born at 3 pm. on June, 13, 1888 on the 4th floor of a bulding located just in front of São Carlos National Theatre. I am speaking of Fernando Pessoa (photo of his statue bellow).

What else do I have to share with you about Chiado? Much more, believe me.

If I am feeling down where do I go to sheer myself up? To Chiado. If I am feeling happy and want to celebrate something where do I go? To Chiado. If I want to buy a special, different present to a friend of mine where do I go? To Chiado, of course!

That's Chiado! That's Lisbon!

Teatro Nacional de São Carlos & Chiado

Em tempos alguém me disse que as memórias da infância são importantes na vida de uma pessoa. Nunca pensei muito nisso, mas em boa verdade até acredito.

Em Lisboa, o Chiado é um dos locais que eu sinto que conheço desde sempre.

Quando era pequenina, costumava ir ao Teatro Nacional de São Carlos com os meus pais e um tio. Aprendi a apreciar música clássica, a adorar ballet clássico e opera naquele Teatro.

Apenas uma nota histórica: o Teatro Nacional de São Carlos abriu ao público a 30 de Julho de 1793 com a ópera La Ballerina Amante, de Domenico Cimarosa.

Mais tarde, na minha juventude, estudei numa escola localizada no Largo do Carmo.

Atualmente a zona do Chiado é frequentemente mencionada em magazines de viagens. Mas inúmeras referências ao Chiado poderão ser também encontradas na literatura portuguesa clássica.

Um dos melhores romancistas portugueses, Eça de Queiroz (1845-1900), mencionou o Chiado mais do que uma vez nos seus fabulosos e reconhecidos livros.

Lisboa e o Chiado estão interligados desde sempre.

A classe alta do século XIX em Portugal passava muito do seu tempo a tomar refeições, a dar os seus passeios domingueiros e a ir aos habituais entretenimentos da época nesta zona de Lisboa. Chiado é uma área com história e histórias.

Para além disso, um dos grandes poetas portugueses nasceu às 3 horas da tarde do dia 13 de Junho de 1888 no 4º andar dum prédio localizado mesmo em frente do Teatro Nacional de São Carlos. Eu estou a falar de Fernando Pessoa (foto da sua estátua em baixo).

Que mais tenho eu para partilhar convosco sobre o Chiado? Muito mais, acreditem!

Se me sinto em baixo e desejo alegrar-me, onde vou eu? Ao Chiado! Se estou alegre e quero celebrar alguma coisa, onde vou eu? Ao Chiado! Se pretendo adquirir um presente especial e diferente para uma pessoa amiga, onde vou eu? Ao Chiado, claro!

Isto é o Chiado! Isto é Lisboa!

Tags:

Recent Posts

See All
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • YouTube
 Follow Us
Pictures4Us - Photos of Portugal but also of other countries
bottom of page