top of page
  • Writer's picturePictures4Us

Mário Cesariny de Vasconcelos (1923-2006)

A Portuguese Poet

VOICE FROM A STONE

"I don’t adore the past I’m not three times a master I made no pact with the underworld that’s not why I’m here sure I saw Osiris but at the time he was called Luiz sure I was with Isis but I told her my name was João no word is ever complete not even in German which has such big ones and so I’ll never succeed in telling you what I know unless by an arrow from the wind’s blue and black bow

I won’t say as someone else did that I know I know nothing I know that I’ve always known a few things and that this counts for something and that I hurl whirlwinds and see the rainbow believing it to be the supreme agent of the world’s heart vessel of freedom purged of menstruation living rose before our eyes The future city where “poetry will no longer give rhythm to action since it will march ahead of it” is still far far away Will there be an end to the preachers of death? An end to the reapers of love? An end to the torture of eyes? Then pass me that jackknife because there’s a lot we need to start pruning pass it don’t look at me as if I were a wizard entrusted with the miracle of truth “the swinging of an ax and the goal of not being sacrificed won’t build anything under the sun" nothing is written after all."

VOZ NUMA PEDRA

"Não adoro o passado não sou três vezes mestre não combinei nada com as furnas não é para isso que eu cá ando decerto vi Osíris porém chamava-se ele nessa altura Luiz decerto fui com Ísis mas disse-lhe eu que me chamava João nenhuma nenhuma palavra está completa nem mesmo em alemão que as tem tão grandes assim também eu nunca te direi o que sei a não ser pelo arco e flecha negro e azul do vento

Não digo como o outro: sei que não sei nada sei muito bem que soube sempre umas coisas que isso pesa que lanço os turbilhões e vejo o arco íris acreditando ser ele o agente supremo do coração do mundo vaso de liberdade expurgada do mênstruo rosa viva diante dos nossos olhos Ainda longe longe a cidade futura onde “a poesia não mais ritmará a acção porque caminhará adiante dela” Os pregadores de morte vão acabar? Os segadores do amor vão acabar? A tortura dos olhos vai acabar? Passa-me então aquele canivete porque há imenso que começar a podar passa não me olhes como se olha um bruxo detentor do milagre da verdade “a machadada e o propósito de não sacrificar-se não constituirão ao sol coisa nenhuma” nada está escrito afinal."

© 1957, Mário Cesariny From: Pena Capital Publisher: Assírio & Alvim, Lisbon, 2004 ISBN: 972-37-0512-5

Source : Poetry International Rotterdam (http://www.poetryinternationalweb.net/pi/site/home/index/en)

Tags:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • YouTube
 Follow Us
Pictures4Us - Photos of Portugal but also of other countries
bottom of page