top of page
  • Writer's picturePictures4Us

Poetry

Taras Shevchenko (1814-1861)

An Ukranian Poet

TESTAMENT (Zapovit)

"When I am dead, bury me

In my beloved Ukraine,

My tomb upon a grave mound high

Amid the spreading plain,

So that the fields, the boundless steppes,

The Dnieper's plunging shore

My eyes could see, my ears could hear

The mighty river roar.

When from Ukraine the Dnieper bears

Into the deep blue sea

The blood of foes ... then will I leave

These hills and fertile fields --

I'll leave them all and fly away

To the abode of God,

And then I'll pray .... But till that day

I nothing know of God.

Oh bury me, then rise ye up

And break your heavy chains

And water with the tyrants' blood

The freedom you have gained.

And in the great new family,

The family of the free,

With softly spoken, kindly word

Remember also me."

Taras Shevchenko, 25 December 1845, Pereiaslav.

Translated by John Weir Toronto, 1961.

ЗАПОВIТ

"Як умру, то поховайте

Мене на могилi,

Серед степу широкого,

На Вкраїнi милiй,

Щоб лани широкополi,

I Днiпро, i кручi

Було видно, було чути,

Як реве ревучий.

Як понесе з України

У синєє море

Кров ворожу... отодi я

I лани i гори -

Все покину i полину

До самого бога

Молитися... А до того -

Я не знаю бога.

Поховайте та вставайте.

Кайдани порвiте

I вражою злою кров'ю

Волю окропiте.

I мене в сiм'ї великiй,

В сiм'ї вольнiй, новiй

Не забудьте пом'янути

Незлим тихим словом."

25 грудня 1845 в Переяславi

MEU TESTAMENTO

"Quando eu morrer, me enterrem

Na minha amada Ucrânia,

Meu túmulo ficará sobre um monte elevado

grave

Em meio à planície se espalhando,

Assim como os campos, as estepes sem limites,

A margem que mergulha do Dnieper.

Meus olhos já podem ver, meus ouvidos ouvem

O rugido poderoso do rio.

Quando os ursos da Ucrânia

lançarem no mar azul profundo

o sangue dos inimigos

Então, eu vou deixar

Esses montes e campos férteis

e voar para longe

Para a morada de Deus,

E então eu irei rezar.

Mas até esse dia

Eu nada saberei de Deus.

Depois de me enterrar, levantem-se

E quebrem as cadeias que nos prenderam,

lancem na água o sangue dos tiranos

e comemorem a liberdade

que conquistarão.

E na grande família nova,

A família do livre, do Justo e do Fraterno,

Com fala mansa, e palavras amáveis,

Lembrem-se também de mim."

Tradução livre por Jaime Leitão.

Links:

Tags:

Recent Posts

See All

Poetry

Poetry

  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • YouTube
 Follow Us
Pictures4Us - Photos of Portugal but also of other countries
bottom of page