top of page
  • Writer's picturePictures4Us

Poetry

Florbela Espanca (1894 – 1930)

A Portuguese Poet

TO LOVE

"I want to love, love with abandon!

To love for love’s sake: here, there,

this one, that one, another, and everyone.

To make love, to be in love, and to love no one.

To remember? To Forget? Makes no difference.

To hold on or let go? Neither bad nor good.

But to say you can love one your entire life,

is a lie.

There is one Spring in each life:

You must sing it like Spring, floridly,

For if God gave us voice, it was to sing!

And if one day I must be dust, ashes, and nothing

let my night be a dawn,

let me know how to lose myself . . . to find myself . . ."

Florbela Espanca, in "Charneca em Flor"

Links:

AMAR!

"Eu quero amar, amar perdidamente!

Amar só por amar: Aqui... além...

Mais Este e Aquele, o Outro e toda a gente...

Amar! Amar! E não amar ninguém!

Recordar? Esquecer? Indiferente!...

Prender ou desprender? É mal? É bem?

Quem disser que se pode amar alguém

Durante a vida inteira é porque mente!

Há uma Primavera em cada vida:

É preciso cantá-la assim florida,

Pois se Deus nos deu voz, foi pra cantar!

E se um dia hei de ser pó, cinza e nada

Que seja a minha noite uma alvorada,

Que me saiba perder... pra me encontrar..."

Florbela Espanca, in "Charneca em Flor"

Links:

Tags:

Recent Posts

See All

Poetry

Poetry

  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • YouTube
 Follow Us
Pictures4Us - Photos of Portugal but also of other countries
bottom of page