top of page
  • Writer's picturePictures4Us

Poetry

Ruy Belo (1933-1978)

A portuguese poet

AND EVERYTHING WAS POSSIBLE

"When I was still young before I left home ready to travel around in the world I already knew about the waves’ breaking from the pages of all the books I’d read

When may rolled around everything was flowers the morning turtledove flew here flew there and to hear the dreamer just speak of life was like it having actually happened

Everything took place in another life and there was always a way out when needed When was all this? Not even I can say

I know only that I had a child’s power all things were close to me and everything was possible I only had to want it."

© 1970, Ruy Belo

From: Todos os Poemas Publisher: Assírio & Alvim, Lisbon, 2000

Links:

E TUDO ERA POSSÍVEL

"Na minha juventude antes de ter saído da casa de meus pais disposto a viajar eu conhecia já o rebentar do mar das páginas dos livros que já tinha lido

Chegava o mês de maio era tudo florido o rolo das manhãs punha-se a circular e era só ouvir o sonhador falar da vida como se ela houvesse acontecido

E tudo se passava numa outra vida e havia para as coisas sempre uma saída Quando foi isso? Eu próprio não o sei dizer

Só sei que tinha o poder duma criança entre as coisas e mim havia vizinhança e tudo era possível era só querer."

Links:

Tags:

Recent Posts

See All

Poetry

Poetry

  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • YouTube
 Follow Us
Pictures4Us - Photos of Portugal but also of other countries
bottom of page